Splints. Questions to ask

The TMJ Association: Splints – What you should know (…)

There isn’t an accepted standard of practice for splints. Here is a list of questions you should ask:

  • What is the splint going to do (flat plane or repositioning), and why are you recommending this kind to me?
  • Are you recommending this splint to decrease my pain, reposition my bite or both?
  • What are my other options?
  • What happens if my pain gets worse while wearing the splint?
  • What happens if I develop an open bite (teeth no longer touch)?
  • What proof do you have that this splint will help?
  • Do I wear the splint during the day, night, or both?
  • How long do I have to wear the splint to feel improvement?
  • If the splint doesn’t help, what are the next steps?
  • How many follow-up treatments will be necessary and how much each visit cost?
  • Will insurance cover the cost of the splint and the follow-up treatments?
  • Must I sign a financial contract with you to begin treatment?       (…)

Source: The TMJ Association: Splints – What you should know

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

